Study Abroad Jitters!

Whether you have traveled outside of the country or not, we can all agree that even small life changes can be pretty anxiety-provoking and scary. When I first heard that I received the position as a T&E intern and I would be spending almost two months in Salamanca, it was not long after that my initial excitement turned into shock and worry. My flight would be two days after moving out of my dorm, which was already stressful enough to deal with as a Resident Assistant helping students with next years housing selection. I did not even realize how soon the trip was until I was at Target, shopping for toiletries with my mom less than 24 hours before my flight.

I went teetering between “this is going to be the most incredible and rewarding experience ever” and “I am completely unprepared to be a twenty-year old alone in a foreign country”. Something that made my transition into the independent, Spanish lifestyle easier was that my partner booked a ticket with me for one week before my internship began. I was able to explore Madrid with someone I trust and feel safe with, and it made it much easier to say goodbye to my loved ones and develop my confidence in my abilities to get around and adapt. Before coming to Spain, I could not stop thinking about how much I would miss everyone; my friends, my boyfriend, my family, heck even my pets! It was not until I got on my bus, all alone, to Salamanca that I realized this is what life is about. Putting yourself out there, making yourself uncomfortable so that you can experience the immense joys of life. Within less than two weeks I began to feel so at home in this country so far and so different from my own. When I start to get homesick, I remind myself that everyone and everything will be there when I get back, just like it was when I left! Your loved ones want to see you enjoy these once in a lifetime experiences, and they would never want you to spend your precious time in a place like Salamanca, sulking. Immerse yourself in the language and lifestyle around you and you will learn so much about yourself, your independence, and the world outside of the United States. Be respectful of the cultural differences rather than being judgemental, and you will soon get into the swing of things. This is a very special place with a beautiful culture, kind and warm-hearted people, delicious food, and so much more. If you want to start your own adventure, check out our website here!

Leave a comment